#WeAreNebua, the magalog of Nebua World!

I like stories. I believe in their importance and in the fact that we are all bearers of a story, extraordinary in its ordinariness or ordinary in its extraordinary, which deserves to be heard and told at least once, precisely because it is unique.

Stories have been used to dispossess and to malign. But stories can also be used to empower and to humanize. Stories can break the dignity of a people. But stories can also repair that broken dignity.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

I find the speech of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, “the danger of the single story”, very true: it reflects the experience of many children of African origin with passion for books.

Let’s go further. Confining ourselves to a single imaginary is counterproductive and impossible when we really want to build a society as inclusive as possible.

Counter-productive because the first to be affected are precisely the minorities, which often find themselves being told through stereotypes and prejudices that struggle to be dismantled and that then lead to episodes of discrimination, episodes that have also been present in my life.

In 2020, we can no longer afford to base our view of the world on a single point of view. We must strive to open ourselves to others, to listen actively, to feel empathy to try to limit a simplified and not very truthful narrative.

Dismantling “the only story” allows us to create an inclusive narrative of the complex realities that surround us, to recognize people as individuals and not as stereotypical figures.

In my path of growth and personal maturity I tried to go further, creating Nebua World: the community that supports the entrepreneurial, cultural, creative and social projects of African-descended women. Among the goals is also to provide new eyes and help stimulate a narrative of African-descended women more adherent to reality.

Nebua World is also a passion for design, fashion and publishing. This is how the Magalog #Wearenebua was born.

In a photographic journey that gives importance to names, faces, expressions, shades in black and white or color, Nebua World takes you, in this first issue, to discover the stories of women who are leaving a positive and more inclusive imprint in Italian society. We love to share our experiences, to be inspired and then to create inspiration.

Aida Aicha Bodian

Latest articles from our blog

Nebua World for WomenXImpact

We are happy to inform you that Nebua World is community partner for WomenX Impact. Womenx Impact is the most anticipated event in Italy dedicated to women leadership to be held from 18 to 20 November 2021 at FICO Eataly

Read More »

We Are Nebua, the magalog of Nebua World

The first issue of the magazine #WeAreNebua is a photographic journey between Milan and Bologna to discover the stories of extraordinary women in their ordinary and ordinary in their extraordinary. Eighteen women: businesswomen, artists, sportsmen, institutional representatives, students, models, activists.

Read More »

Nebua World

The place of women in workplace Gender inequalities in workplace are still present in France, in Italy and throughout the world. Despite the efforts made, the awareness that we are beginning to have on the subject and the actions implemented

Read More »

Nebua World for She Loves Tech

We are so proud to partner up with X23 srl and to share with all of you the “She Loves Tech Startup Competition 2021”. This is an incredible opportunity led by She Loves Tech to break down the barriers for

Read More »
Politique de confidentialité

#WeAreNebua, le magalogue de Nebua World!

J’aime bien les histoires. Je crois beaucoup en leur importance et au fait que nous sommes tous porteurs d’une histoire, extraordinaire dans son ordinaire ou ordinaire dans son extraordinaire, qui mérite d’être écoutée et racontée au moins une fois, précisément parce que unique.

Les histoires ont été utilisées pour déposséder et pour calomnier. Mais elles peuvent aussi être utilisées pour renforcer, et pour humaniser. Les histoires peuvent briser la dignité d’un peuple. Mais les histoires peuvent aussi réparer cette dignité brisée.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Je trouve le speech de Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, « le danger d’une histoire unique », très vrai : il reflète l’expérience de nombreux enfants d’origine africaine avec la passion pour les livres.

Allons plus loin. Se limiter à un seul imaginaire est contre-productif et impossible quand on veut vraiment construire une société aussi inclusive que possible.

Contre-productive parce que les premières victimes sont les minorités, qui se retrouvent souvent à être racontées à travers des stéréotypes et des préjugés qui peinent à être démantelés et qui débouchent ensuite sur des épisodes de discrimination, épisodes qui ont également été présents dans ma vie.

En 2020, nous ne pouvons plus nous permettre de baser notre vision du monde sur un seul point de vue. Nous devons nous efforcer de nous ouvrir aux autres, d’écouter activement, d’éprouver de l’empathie pour tenter de limiter un récit simplifié et bien peu véridique.

Démanteler « la seule histoire » nous permet de créer un récit inclusif des réalités complexes qui nous entourent, de reconnaître les personnes comme des individus et non comme des figures stéréotypées.

Dans mon parcours de croissance et de maturité personnelle, j’ai essayé d’aller plus loin, en créant Nebua World: la communauté qui soutient les projets entrepreneuriaux, culturels, créatifs et sociaux des femmes d’origine africaine. Parmi les objectifs il y a aussi celui de fournir de nouveaux yeux et aider à stimuler un récit des femmes afro-descendantes plus proche de la réalité.

Nebua World est aussi une passion pour le design, la mode et l’édition. C’est ainsi que naît le Magalog #Wearenebua.

Dans un voyage photographique qui donne de l’importance aux noms, visages, expressions, nuances en noir et blanc ou en couleurs, Nebua World vous emmène, dans ce premier numéro, à la découverte des histoires de femmes qui laissent une empreinte positive et plus inclusive dans la société italienne. Nous aimons partager nos expériences, être inspirées et ensuite créer à notre tour de l’inspiration.

Aida Aicha Bodian

Latest articles from our blog

womenximpact

Nebua World pour WomenXImpact

Nous sommes ravis d’annoncer que Nebua World est community partner de WomenX Impact. WomenX Impact est l’événement le plus attendu d’Italie sur le leadership et l’autonomisation féminine qui se tiendra entre le 18 et le 20 novembre 2021 au FICO

Read More »
nasce wearenebua

We Are Nebua, le magalogue de Nebua World

Le premier numero du magalogue #WeAreNebua est un voyage photographique entre Milan et Bologna à la découverte des histoires de femmes extraordinaires dans leur ordinaire et ordinaire dans leur cotè extraordinaire.Dix-huit femmes: femmes entrepreneurs, artistes, sportives, représentants des institutions étudiantes,

Read More »

Nebua World

La place de la femme dans le monde du travail Les inégalités hommes-femmes dans le monde du travail sont encore présentes en France, en Italie, dans le monde entier. Malgré les efforts faits, la sensibilisation qu’on commence à avoir sur

Read More »

Nebua World pour She Loves Tech

Nous sommes si fiers de nous associer avec X23 srl et de partager avec vous tous le « She Loves Tech Startup Competition 2021 ». Il s’agit d’une occasion incroyable, sous la direction de She Loves Tech, d’éliminer les obstacles auxquels se heurtent

Read More »
Politique de confidentialité